top of page

Tuason Racing Formula V1 2022 Series featured the best wet-damped track veterans and new drivers.

Updated: Nov 2, 2022

Milo Rivera leads 2022 Formula V1 Series Individual Top Driver Award with wet weather masterclass racing over veterans and new contenders.

The much-awaited yearly Formula V1 Challenge series racing event organized by Tuason Racing, in collaboration with their major sponsor GiTi Tires, finally kicked off last weekend beginning Saturday, October 29 for Race 1 and Sunday, October 30 for Races 2 and 3. The 2022 series has 2 rounds. The 1st round is a triple-header race which is composed of 3-consecutive races on a weekend and a culminating Endurance race slated for November 2022. Overall Top Individual Championship points will be computed from wins gained in Round 1 (Races 1, 2 & 3) and additional points for final scorecards determination will come from the results of the November Endurance race. Excited fans who were awaiting the final line-up of veteran and new drivers joining were finally determined last Friday, October 28th when the drivers had their official practice before the race proper.

Notable veteran drivers bracketed in the PRO Class are Milo Rivera, Philippines multi-time Driver of the Year, who was a runner-up in the 2021 Formula V1 Championship PRO-Class Series, 16-year-old race prodigy Joaquin Garrido (last year's AM Class Formula V1 Champion), John Dizon (ex-Vios Cup Champion), Stefan Ramirez (from the Ramirez family of racers). Veteran Vios Cup and Formula V1 campaigner Bryan Co of the GITI team and sophomore Sebastien Soto compete again in the AM Class. New driver recruits Paolo Ayo, Dondi San Jose, and Masanori Aya, including come-backing ace driver Oliver Aquino, complete the AM cast.

Race 1 which happened on Saturday afternoon in wet-damped track conditions resulted in giving experienced all-weather driver Milo Rivera of the FrontRow-Petron-EdgeSport team the edge to finish 1st place in the PRO Class edging Joaquin Garrido of Obengers Racing team. In the AM Class, Sebastien Soto took 1st place ahead of drivers Dondi San Jose and Paolo Ayo.

While Typhoon Paeng continuously soaked Southern Luzon, the storm also affected the central portion of Luzon with intermittent heavy rains and gusty winds which even placed Pampanga in Signal # 3 where the race venue Clark International Speedway is located. The crowd and fans who trooped to the racetrack even in bad weather were delighted to watch when the Organizers still proceeded with Race 2 on Sunday morning. Milo Rivera, also an International Gymkhana and Slalom Champion exploited his car control racing prowess again to stamp his mastery of the rain-affected track over rivals netting him another 1st place finish in Race 2 and giving him again the pole position in Race 3. For the AM Class, Soto maintained his pole position when he won back-to-back 1st place too.

The last race of the triple-header displayed more exciting action when in the first turn of the track from the race starting line, Joaquin Garrido and John Dizon both from Obengers team were able to out-positioned the pole leader Rivera relegating him to 3rd position behind Garrido who seemed to have the initial faster pace. After a few laps of dicing, Rivera eventually overtook Garrido which gave him the momentum to go after the front-runner Dizon who has pulled away to create a certain gap in between them. With proper handling and safe track tactical maneuvers, Milo Rivera was able to shorten the gap and eventually overtook the race leader to snatch the lead which he maintained lap after lap creating a sizeable gap over his nearest pursuers until the rain suddenly pour heavily. This mandated the officials to finish the race in a safety lead car. In the AM class, Soto like Rivera in the PRO class also won three in a row to lead the Amateur class series. Veteran GiTi factory driver Brian Co meanwhile took consecutive runner-up finishes over the newbies in Races 2 and 3.

Points leader Milo Rivera will have a chance to set another record in Philippine Motorsports if he wins again and posts good results in Round 2 November Endurance race that will give him the overall title to duplicate the feat of his younger brother Estefano Rivera who was the overall champion in the 2019 Formula V1 Challenge. They will become the first sibling racer to win the same race series.

Presented and organized by Tuason Racing in collaboration with GiTi Tires, supported by Brembo, OakleyPH, West Racing Cars, Rota Wheels, and among others, the whole event was probably the most exciting series that is filled with dramatic finishes and energetic track performance despite the weather disturbance. The 2022 Formula V1 Series last round will happen in November categorized as the Formula V1 Team Endurance race and afterward, the new 2022 Overall Champion will be declared.

Photos Credited to and Provided By the Organizer: Tuason Racing

69 views0 comments
bottom of page